Motional

Measuring and Improving
Emotional Health and Well-being

Groups FAQs

To help you to get organised for the new academic year (and to offer some guidance generally) we’ve pulled together a short list of FAQs for dealing with changes to your Groups:

  • My Group has moved up a year to a new class.  What do I need to do with my Group on Motional?
  • I’ve got a new pupil joining one of my existing Groups. Will I have to create the Group again?
  • I’ve got a pupil who is no longer in one of my Groups. Will I have to create the Group again?
  • I’ve got a pupil who is no longer at our setting. Will I have to create the Group again?
  • There are quite a few changes to the pupils in my Group.  Should I just edit the Group?
  • My Group has left.  How do I delete it?

One of the most important features of Motional is its powerful and flexible Reporting tool, and you’ll want to make sure that you’re dealing with any changes to your Groups in the right way to make sure you can get the best out of this.  As always, if you can’t find the answer you’re looking for or just need a bit of reassurance, help is just a few keystrokes away via the pink circle!

 

Q. My Group has moved up a year to a new class.  What do I need to do with my Group on Motional?

If your Group is moving from ‘Class 4 Rhino’ to ‘Class 5 Elephant’, but the children within that Group are staying more or less the same, then all you need to do is rename the Group.  The Group is defined by the Participants within it – the title is just a means of you identifying them. To make sure that you can continue to use the Reporting feature to compare the results (and hopefully track progress!) of the Group, simply change the Group name.  Behind the scenes we still know it is the same Group of Participants and we’ll be able to show you how the results of ‘Class 4 Rhino’ compare now that they have become ‘Class 5 Elephant’!

So how do I do it?
  1. Go to the Groups page
  2. Search for the Group you want to change the name of
  3. Click on the existing Group name in the left hand column
  4. Click ‘Edit Group’ at the top left of the page
  5. Change the ‘Title’ field to the new Group name
  6. Click ‘Save Changes’ and… hey presto, you’re done!

 

Q. I’ve got a new pupil joining one of my existing Groups. Will I have to create the Group again?

We listened to your feedback and heard that you wanted to be able to edit a Group for those times when changes happen along the way.  So now you can with the new ‘Edit Group’ function! If you just need to add one or two children to an existing Group there’s no need to create the Group again.  Just add them to the Group and carry on as you were. Just bear in mind that, if you have existing Snapshots for this Group, any changes will affect Reporting. We’ll remind you about this when you come to create a report for that Group so you can consider whether any changes in results might be to do with the change in Participants.  Any new Participants won’t appear in your previous Snapshot results since they weren’t a part of the Group at the time. But they’ll be added so you can include them in any future Snapshots.

So how do I do it?
  1. Go to the Groups page
  2. Search for the Group you want to add the Participant to
  3. Click on the existing Group name in the left hand column
  4. Click ‘Edit Group’ at the top left of the page
  5. Use the ‘Search Participants’ box to find who you’re looking for (they’ll need to have been created as a Participant first if they’re new to you)
  6. Click ‘Save Changes’ and… bingo, you’re done!

 

Q. I’ve got a pupil who is no longer in one of my Groups. Will I have to create the Group again?

If the pupil is still at your school / setting but just not in that Group anymore, you can just remove them from the Group and carry on as you were – there’s no need to create the Group again. This is not the solution if they have left your setting completely though (there’s another FAQ below for that scenario). Just bear in mind that, if you have existing Snapshots for this Group, any changes will affect Reporting.  We’ll remind you about this when you come to create a report for that Group so you can consider whether any changes in results might be to do with the change in Participants. Any Participants who have been removed from the Group will appear in previous Snapshot results since they were a part of the Group at the time (you’ll see them listed as “Name (Removed)” so you can identify them).  But they won’t be included in any future Snapshots for the Group.

So how do I do it?
  1. Go to the Groups page
  2. Search for the Group you want to remove the Participant from
  3. Click on the existing Group name in the left hand column
  4. Click ‘Edit Group’ at the top left of the page
  5. Scroll down the list of Participants to find who you’re looking for and click the x on the right hand side
  6. Click ‘Save Changes’ and… abracadabra, you’re done!

 

Q. I’ve got a pupil who is no longer at our setting. Will I have to create the Group again?

If the Participant has left your setting and you want to remove them from your Team account, then you’ll need to get in touch with us to do this.  There’s no need to create the Group again. Once we’ve removed them you will no longer be able to see their details within your list of Participants and they won’t appear in your Group. Just bear in mind that, if you have existing Snapshots for this Group, any changes will affect Reporting.  We’ll remind you about this when you come to create a report for that Group so you can consider whether any changes in results might be to do with the change in Participants. Any Participants who have been removed from your Team account will appear in previous Snapshot results since they were a part of the Group at the time (you’ll see them listed as “Removed Participant” so you can identify which results are theirs).  But they won’t be included in any future Snapshots for the Group.

 

Q. There are quite a few changes to the pupils in my Group.  Should I just edit the Group?

If there are significant changes to the Participants within the Group (e.g. more than about 20% of the Group has changed) we don’t recommend that you edit the Group. This is because is becomes very tricky (and not particularly accurate) to compare the results of this Group within Reporting.  It is essentially a new Group – the name might be the same, but the Group of Participants within it are no longer the same. We would recommend instead that you create a new Group using the ‘Create Group’ facility within the Participants page. Make sure you use a slightly different name than before so that you can tell the difference!

 

Q. I need to create new Groups for my new Year 7s.  How do I do this?

  1. You’ll first need to make sure that all of these pupils are listed as Participants within your Motional Team.  You can do this yourself or you can send us an up to date list of your pupils and from this we’ll work out who’s new (and add them), who’s left (and remove them) and make sure all other details are up to date.
  2. Once you know they’re listed in your Participants page you can create a new Group using the ‘Create Group’ facility within the Participants page.

 

Q. My Group has left.  How do I delete it?

  1. If your whole Group has left (for instance last year’s Year 6s) you might want to delete the Group from your Team account.  At the moment it’s not possible for users to delete a Group but if you pop us a message via the pink circle we can do this for you.  Bear in mind that once you have deleted a Group you will no longer be able to view any of their Snapshot results or create a Report for them.